Skip to navigation Skip to content turn2us logoTurn2us - to access benefits & grants.
Search this site

You are here:

Universal Credit: pilot stage local authority long list named - Turn2us

Turn2us Universal Credit information sheetThe Department for Work and Pensions and the Local Government Association have named fifteen local authorities in England recommended as potential pilot sites for Universal Credit.

These are:

  • Barnet
  • Bath and North East Somerset
  • Birmingham
  • Hammersmith and Fulham (in consortium with Kensington and Chelsea, Wandsworth and Westminster)
  • Leeds
  • Lewisham
  • Melton
  • Newcastle under Lyme
  • North Dorset
  • Oldham
  • Oxford
  • Rushcliffe
  • A consortium of North Yorkshire authorities led by Scarborough
  • West Lindsey
  • Wigan.

Pilot process

From these recommendations, DWP will now make a final selection of local authorities that will be involved in the pilot process in the Autumn. These will focus on delivering the face-to-face support some people may need to make claims for Universal Credit, including:

  • Online support
  • Help with budgeting and job searches
  • Reducing fraud and error
  • Reducing homelessness.

A separate selection process is underway for local authorities in Wales and Scotland.

Read our Universal Credit information sheet

Read the Department for Work and Pensions press release (link opens in a new window)

Facebook (opens in a new window) Twitter (opens in a new window) YouTube (opens in a new window) Nominet Award - Doing Good Online Highly Commended